Members of the First Wellington County Historical Society

Author: Unknown

Publication Date: 1966


Contributed by: Mrs. D. B. Shutt.

There are at least four people living who were members of the first Wellington County Historical Society (1934-35). There are Mrs. Norman Wallace, Mr. C. L. C. Allinson, Mr. John McElderry, and Mrs. T. J. Hannigan.

The full list of 87 members has come to light recently and will remind us of the yeoman service done during the Depression, when these earnest historians did their utmost to save the logs of the Priory. This list is found on the last page of Volume 3 of the Society’s publications and may supply a clue by which the Guelph Historical Society can further its research.

Some of the names are unknown to this writer, and may be alive, though this is a slim chance. The list of members is as follows:



Allan, David

Carr, John

Holliday, Miss E.

Martin, Mrs. Sarah

Stewart, Alexander

Allan, Mrs. David

Cutten, Harry

Howell, W. G.

McElderry, John H.

Stewart, Ms. Etta

Allan, Ms. Edith

Cutten, Ms. Lenore

Howitt, Charles E.

Messner, Leo

Stewart, Phebe

Allinson, Capt. C.

Dunbar, C. L. (K.C.)

Howitt, J. R. (K.C.)

Millar, J. S.

Thorp, George

Ariss, Miss E. A. (R.N.)

Dunbar, Mrs. C. L.

Howitt, Mrs. Henry

Mills, R. E.

Till, Ms. M.

Ariss, Miss M.

Foote, Ms. Annie

Howitt, Mrs. J. R.

Mitchell, Ms. Grace

Torrance, R. L.

Armstrong, John

Foote, Ms. Mary

Johnston, R. G.

MucCullough, Mrs. J. S.

Tovell, Mrs. Amos

Barber, Chas. W.

Foster, A. S.

Kennedy, D. E.

Munro, Ms. May P.

Walkie, George

Bell, T. N.

Gow, John (O.B.E.)

Kennedy, John

Nelles, C. L.

Wallace, Dr. Norman

Bricker, I. C.

Guelph Public Library (per Ms. N. A. Reed)

Ketcheson, Fred G.

Orton, Dr. T. H.

Wallace, Mrs. Norman

Britton, Dr. G. P.

Hamilton Public Library

Laidlaw, William

Pentelow, Mrs. W. M.

Watt, Frederic (K.C.)

Brock, Mrs. Henry

Hamilton, Rev. A. M.

Leadlay, H. J. B.

Scovil, Archdeacon G. F. (D.D.)

Westoby, Harry

Buckingham, Walter C. (K.C.)

Hannigan, Mrs. T. J.

Leadlay, Mrs. H. J. B.

Smith, J. Godfrey

Wilson, Ms. Annie

Burnell, L.

Heffernan, Ms. Agnes J.

Leitch, A.

Smith, Mrs. J. Godfrey

Wissler, Mrs. Henry

Burrows, Dr. E. S.

Higinbotham, Harry

Lye, O. G.

Snyder, Joseph M.

Wright, A. W. (B.A.)

Burrows, Dr. N. S.

Higinbotham, Mrs. Harry

Macdonald, Evan

Snyder, Ms. J. M.


Byerly, Dr. A. E.

Hockin, C. M.

MacLean, Ms. Selina

Standish, Ms. E.


Card, J. M.

Hockin, John

Mahon, Thomas

Stevenson, O. J. (M.A.)